AMM CEO

Pastor Andre Mitchell

It’s been quite some time since I have blogged.  Few things lately have inspired me to blog.  I have been inspired to talk, think, and tweet; but not blog until now.  As I participated in last Sunday’s worship service, I noticed something significant.  I should say, as I tried to sit, because there was such a jubilant praise in the building.

A few key members of the praise team were just arriving, while the others took their places. Seeing that the organist had not quite situated himself yet; one lady broke out into a congregational song.  That one song turned into several oldies but goodies.  Songs about the blood, our mighty God, victory, and freedom etc.  You couldn’t help but join in with your voice, your hands, and even your feet.

I’m not talking about emotional gymnastics, but rather when the lyrics jump out at you and become alive.  In those moments, you remember that no matter what you may face when you leave, God is present and He is worthy of your best praise.  Our best praise means different things to all of us.  Sometimes it is silent thoughts, jubilant shouts, toes tapping, eyes watering, hands clapping, hallelujahs ringing, amens whispering, drums beating, organs piping, people standing, people sitting, and on and on and on.  The point is, we all do it differently but whatever praise wells up inside of you belongs to God.  Psalms 150 exclaims “Let everything that hath breath praise the LORD.  Praise ye the LORD” 

It’s also  in these times that we forget whatever is wrong about our lives and we immediately are just excited to be alive, to have computers to type on, cell phones to talk on, and families to share life’s ups and downs with.  Also for many of us to be living in a land where we still can worship freely is an extreme blessing.   At the end of the day, we know that only God could have done  these things for us. 

I got up after the praise as I always do.  I encouraged the people to praise a little while longer, but then the Spirit began to shift quickly.  As I stood with the microphone in my hand, I could sense the entire room’s sincere need of a Savior.  I began to quote scriptures and exhort on the blood of Jesus.  Right then and there an altar call was given.  The jubilant praise turned into a reverential respect as people all over the building cried out to their Redeemer and their Lord.  Tears began to flow from my eyes like a broken dam as I was reminded that all my righteousness, yes even my praise seconds earlier, is as filthy rags.  Without God sending His Son to die for us and pay the penalty for our sins, we would be men and women most miserable. 

Instead of misery, we have joy knowing that one day on Calvary’s cross there was a man from Galilee who hung, bled, and died for us.  Not only that, He rose with all power in His hands.  He gave gifts unto men, and in Him we are now seated in heavenly places with full access to the throne room of our Abba Father.

With all these thoughts still flowing through my mind I sat down so the ushers could receive the offering.  Well, no offering was able to be taken.  When one of the ushers reached the front he grabbed the offering basket but quickly had to put it back down.  The  presence of God arrested him and he too began to exhort the congregation under the influence of the Holy Spirit.  Finally, the pastor got up and flowed right into an awesome message from the Father.

Later that day, as I reflected on the service, a lyric from an old song leaped inside of me. It articulates in seconds what has taken me several paragraphs to describe. The song simply says “Sweep Over My soul, Sweep Over My Soul. Sweet SPIRIT, sweep over my soul.  My Joy Is Complete as I Kneel at His feet, Sweet SPIRIT Sweep Over My Soul”  Shalom!

Comments
  1. Tammy Murphy says:

    I have been going to your church for about 4yrs. and i enjoy you and your father’s services. i guess becasue your closer to my age than your father is, although i’m alot older than you. i can relate to your sermons a lot more. they stir up something in me and the man that resides in me. (you know who and what I mean)lol.
    but seriously i am not quite there in god yet, as the rest of the congregration is, but would like to be. and if you ever have an opening in your counseling, which you mentioned this past sunday. i would like to offer some to those that I can, for i have been through alot in my life.

    • Tammy, you know I am here for you. We will talk in person and work out the details. I am going to start teaching the 6:00pm Bible Study for awhile now so we can connect on Tuedays too. Thanks for stopping by the blog. Love you and God bless.

  2. Rosslyn Casey says:

    Can you tell me who sings this song?

  3. Ineke Vandewetering says:

    Can you give me the rest of the words of the song?
    I got this song in my heart yesterday morning, the melody went on and on in my heart but I don’t remember the whole song.
    I know the Lord is saying something to me through this song and I like to know the whole meaning.
    Thanks,God bless,Ineke

Leave a Reply

