Pastor Andre Mitchell

One day while working in a factory, I had a simple but profound revelation from God. I was running a machine that cuts metal. I was placing the metal part on the fixture so I could start the machine. With much effort I tried to put the part onto the fixture but it just wouldn’t go. I struggled and struggled. I pushed, I pulled, I pressed down, and I exerted both energy and force. I actually wore myself out. So I decided I was going to go get a hammer and tap the part into it’s proper position. In order to do this, I had to let the part go. To my utter surprise, as soon as I took my hands off the part it fell right into place. Then this revelation hit me like a ton of bricks; “How many things in your life will never work until you finally take your hands off of them?” It came to me just like that in a question.

You see, many times as human beings we have this great need to be in control. The only problem is, we just don’t know what we are doing. How many people’s marriages, families, children, careers, and overall lives would be better if they stopped trying to be in control. Take your hands off! The God that created this vast universe, has created you too. He has a great big plan for your life. Stop trying to be the superhero of your life, and acknowledge your Creator in all you endeavor to do (Prov 3:5-6). Yield your plans to God, yield yourself to His Word, and yield your will to His Will.
I have flown many times, but never once have I ever taken the controls over from the pilot. You wanna know why? Cause I don’t know how to fly! As much as it hurts, I have to trust that the pilot knows what he is doing and just enjoy the ride. Life is exactly the same way and the Triune God is your Master Pilot. So likewise, it’s time to trust God and enjoy the ride (Ps 118:8). I know it has been said a thousand times, but it bears repeating once again: LET GO AND LET GOD!

(originally written for the incorruptible aliance blog http://www.incorruptiblealliance.com )

Leave a Reply

